Depending on your situation, there are typically three or four parts of your home loan payment:

Principal: Payment of your outstanding balance.
Interest: Payment of the interest charged on the outstanding balance.
Taxes: One-twelfth of your expected annual property taxes will be included in your home loan payment, and deposited into your escrow account.
Insurance: This includes homeowners insurance, as well as any other hazard insurances you're required to have, such as flood or windstorm. If you put less than 20% down on your loan, this can also include private mortgage insurance.

Based on these four items, your home loan payments are sometimes referred to as PITI.
Was this article helpful?
Thank you!